Your position : Home > News and Events > News

Asia Pacific Vascular Biology Organization (APVBO) 2019 Conference at ZOC/SKLO



The APVBO 2019 conference took place during May 9th-12th, 2019 in the academic hall of Zhongshan Ophthalmic Center (ZOC), State Key Laboratory of Ophthalmology (SKLO), Sun Yat-sen University (SYSU), Guangzhou, China. Prof. Yizhi Liu, President of the ZOC and Director of SKLO, welcomed everyone at the opening ceremony on May 9 in the evening.

The conference mainly focused on eight themes, including Vascular Metabolism, Vascular Permeability and Stem/Progenitor Cells, Vascular Signaling, Lymphatic system and Vascular Injury, Neural-Vascular Link and Vascular Regulation, Tumor Angiogenesis and Vascular Inflammation, Vascular Diseases and Endothelial Specialization, and New Advances in Vascular Research.

More than 30 internationally renowned vascular biologists presented their most recent findings. These include (in alphabetical order): Dr. Ralf H. Adams, Dr. Kari Alitalo, Dr. Zoltan Arany, Dr. Hellmut Augustin, Dr. Tatiana V. Byzova, Dr. Yihai Cao, Dr. Peter Carmeliet, Dr. Alex F. Chen, Dr. Hong Chen, Dr. Lena Claesson-Welsh, Dr. Mieke Dewerchin, Dr. Napoleone Ferrara, Dr. Jennifer Gamble, Dr. Jaime Grutzendler, Dr. Timothy Hla, Dr. Ben Hogan, Dr. Kairbaan Hodivala-dilke, Dr. Junhao Hu, Dr. Jan Kitajewski, Dr. Yoshiaki Kubota, Dr. Xuri Li, Dr. Jing Li, Dr. Jia Li, Dr. Xialin Liu, Dr. Jincai Luo, Dr. Asrar B. Malik, Dr. Weijun Pan, Dr. Tatiana Petrova, Dr. Michael Potente, Dr. Jalees Rehman, Dr. Michael Simons, Dr. Didier Stainier, Dr. Rong Wang, Dr. Wang Min, Dr. Aimin Xu, Dr. Biao Yan, Dr. Karina Yaniv, Dr. Luyang Yu, Dr. Yuping Yuan, and Dr. Bin Zhou.

The conference brought together more than 300 vascular researchers from all over the world, making it a great success for scientific communication, collaboration, and education.


Director Yizhi Liu giving the opening remark at the conference, and giving the APVBO 2019 Award to Dr. Peter Carmeliet.


Distinguished speakers (from left to right): Dr. Ralf Adams, Dr. Kari Alitalo, Dr. Peter Carmeliet, Dr. Napoleone Ferrara, Dr. Michael Simons.

Distinguished speakers (from left to right): Dr. Rong Wang, Dr. Xuri Li, Dr. Jan Kitajewski, Dr. Hellmut Augustin, Dr. Yihai Cao, Dr. Michael Simons, Dr. Hellmut Augustin, Dr. Zoltan Arany, Dr. Michael Potente.



Group photo

Conference ongoing